Sticks and stones may break bones but words can definitely hurt me

Reading wombwarrior’s blog earlier
(http://wombwarrior.wordpress.com/ ) got me thinking about the things that people have said to me over the last six months. I’ve obviously had a lot if the usual “it wasn’t meant to be”, “miscarriage is really common” and “at least you can get pregnant” but I thought I would share with you some of the more priceless comments which have left me seething. [Note that other than the first comment, all if these people know about my miscarriages]

* [taken from a chat at work with two colleagues] Colleague one (to me): You’ve got children haven’t you?, Colleague two (jumping in to answer): No she has dogs instead! – Yes because I’m obviously the crazy dog lady who thinks dogs are child substitutes! Grrr

* [this comment was from my boss at work said on the Friday evening following my ERPC on the Tuesday after which I was back at work on the Wednesday] Your chargeable hours aren’t as good this week as they were this time last month, I thought you said you were still busy!

* [another colleague] How are you feeling? Me: Not too bad but really tired following the operation yesterday. Colleague: You must be pleased to have lots of work to take your mind off everything. Hopefully in a few days time you’ll have gotten over everything and be back to normal!

* [Friend, whilst cuddling her baby] When I found out I was pregnant I just knew it was meant to be and that it would work out fine *coos at baby* “didn’t I poppet, mummy just knew you were meant to be”

* [My mother on learning of my second miscarriage in six months] Oh that’s a shame *changes subject*

* [The boy’s dad, who had decided not to book a September holiday on learning he would be a granddad in September, on learning of the miscarriage] We were sorry to hear your news. We’ve booked that holiday in September now,any chance we could have a lift to the airport?

* [My boss at work, again] I can’t believe all you girls are trying to leave me. You’ve tried to get pregnant and Julie (who is due at the same time i would have been) was actually successful!

And that’s not even all of them. I swear if I hadn’t of heard the comments myself I wouldn’t have thought it possible!

2 thoughts on “Sticks and stones may break bones but words can definitely hurt me

  1. People are so rude and insensitive. I’ve had my share of awful things said to me. And then, those that don’t know what I have been through seem to always talk about pregnancies now. I feel like I have a sign on my forehead that says “Please kick me while I am already down.” PS – I have two dogs and would love a third! Hugs, friend.

  2. Yes, I’m so sure that you were absolutely thrilled to have so much work to do that you couldn’t possibly find a second to think about your loss. *Cue sarcasm*

    As if all the work in the world would have actually prevented you from thinking about it.

    Sometimes I just wish people would say nothing.

    On a side note, if one more person jokes about how I’ll die alone as the crazy cat lady (I have two, God forbid), I might kick them.

Leave a Reply

