Mumsnet

I am delighted to have been accepted onto the mumsnet bloggers network. I have been reading the mumsnet website since we first started trying to conceive and I loved reading the stories on the blogs of people’s journeys to pregnancy, their birth stories and beyond. If you are reading this and you don’t know what mumsnet is, its an information / forum website in the UK aimed at mums and mums (and dads) to be and covers all things child related.
I was discussing with a friend the other day that there are two types of people: (i) The ones who think ignorance is bliss; and (ii) The ones who think knowledge is power. And I am definitely a knowledge is power girl (and possibly a bit nosy too!). I love reading blogs and like to submerse myself in information on whatever subject I am interested in at that moment. I discovered upon becoming pregnant that for an information lover, pregnancy is the best topic ever as so many people have an opinion and there is so much information out there, much of it conflicting, but all super interesting.

I found that there was a bit of a problem with my mumsnet habit when I had my first miscarriage as there wasn’t as much information on the website about miscarriage. The facts pages are useful and there is a forum but the blogs were all about babies (the name mums net probably should have given that away). Although some of the bloggers had suffered miscarriages they had all subsequently had babies so there wasn’t much which was relevant to me at that time. I thought this was a bit strange as if 1 in 4 pregnancies end in miscarriage surely out of the hundreds of blogs there would be a fair few (if not 25%) about miscarriage but this didn’t appear to be the case.

This is why I am so pleased to be a mumsnet blogger as there might be another me (six months ago) who suddenly discovers that their favourite website no longer makes them feel surrounded by information and instead makes them feel a bit alone. If you’re reading this and you have just suffered a miscarriage please don’t feel like you are the only one. There are lots of us going through the same things and hopefully this blog (and the great blogs on the ‘Blogs I Follow’ list) will show you that. You aren’t alone.

2 thoughts on “Mumsnet

  1. Congrats on using this platform to discuss the very important and often neglected topic of miscarriages! More needs to be done to raise awareness about the issue and help women going through miscarriages realize that they are not alone. Kudos to you!

    • Thank you. It has made such a difference to me reading other people’s blogs and hearing about their experiences (it somehow makes it less scary).

Leave a Reply

