Testing the patience of saints

I can’t believe I’m writing this but I’m still waiting for my test results. I’ve got three different test results due from three different hospitals and, other than an entirely pointless meeting with an almost incompetent doctor three weeks ago, I haven’t heard a word since I left hospital on 29th December.

After phoning around a number of switchboards on Tuesday of this week, I managed to get the number for the secretary to my named consultant (I’ve never actually met or spoken to her but she is supposedly responsible for my file). The secretary was perfectly friendly but a really bad blagger so it was easy to tell from her tone of voice that the note which the incompetent doctor had left for the consultant to “chase the London hospital for the results and follow up with the patient” had simply been put on the file and no further action had been taken. Grrr! The secretary said that she would chase it up for me and that one of the consultant’s two secretaries would phone me back to let me know what was going on. I duly left my number even though it should be plastered over my file.

Well that was 8am Tuesday morning and it’s now 8am Saturday morning and I haven’t heard a thing!!!

So I’m still waiting for:
(I) Results of the tests on the products of conception which I gave to the hospital on 17th December having driven a 4 hour round trip after my medically managed miscarriage at home.
(II) Results of a blood test I had on 8th January to see what was happening with my hormone levels.
(III) Results for the tests from my D&C on 29th December to confirm whether it was a molar pregnancy.
(IV) The arrival of AF. I currently have painful boobs, slight nausea and increased CM. This could be the imminent arrival of AF or an increase of hCG as a result of a molar pregnancy becoming persistent gestational trophoblast disease (PGTD). I’m hoping for the first but until I get the results back from the hospital or AF arrives, I have no idea.

I am an impatient person at the best of times and this would test the patience of a saint (which I am definitely not!)

10 thoughts on “Testing the patience of saints

  1. I hate this. I hate being left in the incompetent hands of so-called professionals. I hate that there are so many unanswered questions. I want so much for AF to arrive so you have one less thing to worry about. I’m so sorry about everything hun. You have every right to be upset, anxious and frustrated. Wish I could do something xx

  2. I’m sorry you seem to have gotten lost in the system, it’s so ridiculous and unfair. It’s hard enough to go through what you’ve gone through, but then to have to wait and wait forever just to understand what happened. I’m sorry :(.

    • Thank you. I’ve finally got another appointment with the consultant (in three weeks!) so we should finally get some answers. Until then I’ll practise my waiting skills!

    • Thank you. I’ve finally got another appointment with the consultant (in three weeks!) so we should finally get some answers. Until then I’ll practise my waiting skills!

    • Thank you. I’ve finally got another appointment with the consultant (in three weeks!) so we should finally get some answers. Until then I’ll just umm… wait some more!

Leave a Reply

