Feeling super proud of my body

It might not be very good at maintaining a pregnancy but today I’m feeling very proud of my body and sorry for all the times I have cursed it for being too chunky or pasty-white. Today it carried me around my first ever triathlon and finished it in under 2 hours! The bike course was very hilly but despite being my worst of the three disciplines, I was still able to catch and overtake people on the climbs and still had strength in my legs for the run.

I had wanted to take part in a triathlon with my husband last week but when the entries opened at the end of last year I was pregnant and by the time the miscarriage happened the event was full. Thankfully I was able to get a last minute place for today’s event and having been helping the boy with his training I wasn’t too out of shape so it only took a few more runs and a long cycle last weekend to prepare.

With regard to TTC, there isn’t much to report. We’re currently mid-cycle. I ovulated on Saturday and we’ve been following the ‘sperm meets egg plan’ so I have been feeling less stressed about trying to work out how often we should be having sex. I was a little worried that today’s exercise could affect the outcome of this cycle but I feel like I can’t keep putting my life on hold and avoiding everything I want to do. Whether this cycle is successful or not, today was a good day and I have a new found respect for my body. It might not look like a model and might not be a baby making machine but it is stronger than I had given it credit for.

20140505-141132.jpg

16 thoughts on “Feeling super proud of my body

  1. I like this. We all need to find ways to appreciate our bodies and love them through all of these difficulties. Congrats on the triathlon! I would not have been able to do that…

    • Thank you. If you wanted to do a triathlon you definitely could but I get that they aren’t everybody’s thing. It’s good to do something to remind me that my body isn’t rubbish at everything.

    • Thank you. I don’t know if it worked but I definitely feel less stressed this month and I think sperm meets egg is helping.

Leave a Reply

