Would very much like to be ‘normal’

We got our nuchal test results back yesterday and were pleased to see that we are at low risk of a Down’s Syndrome pregnancy (1 in 460). However, my blood test showed that my Free Beta hGC was 5.75 times higher than ‘average’. Dr Google says that this is a sign of Down’s Syndrome when combined with low PAPP-A and AFP but my PAPP-A and AFP levels were average or slightly above average so it seems that my elevated Free Beta hCG is an isolated anomaly. No comment was made on this result in the accompanying letter and no follow up has been scheduled so I’m assuming that I shouldn’t be unduly concerned but I’m still going to phone to see if I can get some answers. Having had a molar pregnancy which results in insane hCG levels I’m keen to check that this isn’t related. The high hCG might explain why I’m still feeling really nauseous all day. Whilst I have no reason to think that there is anything wrong with this pregnancy I do wish that everything could just be ‘normal’ so that my worrying head wouldn’t have anything to grab onto!

5 thoughts on “Would very much like to be ‘normal’

  1. I didn’t even know that the NT scan yielded a ratio of likelihood based on measurements–but that makes sense so now I’ll have to google my results! I’m glad your results were reasonably good, but sorry you’re prone to worry. There’s always *something*, it seems. XOXO

  2. I echo what everyone else has said hon. Try no to worry too much. Quad screen testing (which I’m guessing is what you had) can have false positives (high hcg and AFP levels) and everything is often fine with the baby. I opted out of doing this test because of this reason and decided to do the MaterniT21 test instead. It’s also just a blood test, but it has a 99% accuracy for ruling out downs. It was fully covered by my insurance because of my history and the fact that I’m over 35. I’m not sure how old you are, but you should ask your doctor about it. It really gave me extra peace of mind. Hugs hon. Sending you and your little one extra prayers. ❤

Leave a Reply

